DSRTF's Scientific Advisory Board

The following individuals participate on DSRTF's Scientific Advisory Board (SAB):


Michael M. Harpold, PhD
Chair - Scientific Advisory Board
Chief Scientific Officer
Down Syndrome Research and Treatment Foundation

Dr. Harpold serves as the Chair of the DSRTF Scientific Advisory Board contributing his expertise in neuroscience and biomedical research, drug development and intellectual property issues from academia, the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries.

Ronald M. Evans, PhD
Professor and March of Dimes Chair in Molecular and Developmental Biology
Gene Expression Laboratory
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
Dr. Evans is an authority on hormones, both their normal activities and their roles in disease.

Leslie Leinwand, PhD
Professor, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
University of Colorado

Dr. Leinwand’s research focus is the genetic manipulation of cardiac and skeletal muscle development and function.

Lynn Nadel, PhD

Regents’ Professor of Psychology
University of Arizona

Dr. Nadel studies the role of the hippocampal formation in learning and memory and focuses on its particular role in spatial cognition.

Roger Harper Reeves, PhD

Professor, Department of Physiology
Johns Hopkins University

Dr. Reeves’ research goal is to understand how gene dosage imbalance disrupts development in Down syndrome in order to develop and test potential therapies for specific features of Down syndrome.

André Strydom, MBChB, PhD
Senior Clinical Lecturer, Intellectual Disabilities and Mental Health Sciences Unit
University College London

Dr. Strydom is a clinician and researcher with a focus on cognition and behavior in intellectual disabilities, including Down syndrome.


Down Syndrome Research and
Treatment Foundation

225 Cedar Hill Street, Suite 200  Marlborough, MA  01752
Phone: 508.630.2177

© 2012 Down Syndrome Research and Treatment Foundation. All Rights Reserved.